Looking Back: I want to be strong

12 Nov

Back when I sat down and tried to figure out what I really wanted for my life, the first thing I came up with was to be strong. And not just, I can lift 100 pounds strong, but mentally and emotionally strong as well.

Looking back on how I outlined this over a year ago, I am really proud of myself, in a way I hadn’t expected. I’m not exactly where I want to be quite yet, but hey, life’s a journey right?

Becoming physically strong. I’ve started working out again with much more regularity. I’ve even attempted CrossFit which seems to be all the rage now, and I can certainly see why. Part of what got me going was this video. Somehow, it hit me. Yes, I wanted to be able to wear skinny jeans and look fabulous, but it was more than that. My goal, when I put it on paper (or in electronic form as it may have been), was not to be thin, it was to be strong. And I think I’m getting there.

Becoming emotionally strong. As with most families, my family is a challenge. Dealing with them and with the situations that may arise is not always easy. But, I’ve found that I’m getting to a place where I can deal with the things that come my way. I still cry sometimes, but I don’t think that is a sign that I’m not becoming more emotionally strong. Being confident in my choices, finding calmness in the craziness, and understanding that I can’t change other people, but I can decide how I will react helps me to move forward in a strong and supportive-of-others way. Again, still getting there, but I’m happy with where I am.

Becoming mentally strong. I am proud to say that I am more than half way through my grad school program. It hasn’t been easy, but it has been great. I have learned so much and have gained confidence in my abilities at work because of the things I’m learning. There have been times when I have questioned this decision because of the money or the time, but I know that this was the best decision I could have made for myself when it comes to my education, and it’s really paying off.

I am becoming the person I want to be. And I’m so thankful to the people who have been there with me along the way to support me.

3 Responses to “Looking Back: I want to be strong”

  1. Katie W November 12, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    I think this is an awesome update! Good for you trying CrossFit. I think I’m too “lazy” for that… Ha!

    But we need to talk about your emotional strength. I’m certainly struggling with it and would love to hear how your making progress ๐Ÿ™‚

    Also, I’m SO happy to hear you say that grad school has been a good decision! I’m only taking one class but I know it can be a struggle and it’s REALLY GOOD to hear that your confident with this decision. I think that confidence is a sign of growth and I’m proud of you. Plus, learning is fun! And, hopefully, it will pay to be mentally strong ๐Ÿ™‚

    PS – I know this isn’t an email but we need to hang out! Wed or Thurs maybe?

  2. Kristen November 13, 2012 at 12:11 am #

    I have always loved the sub-categories you defined for being strong. I know that all of these efforts will be on-going as life changes, and I’m thrilled that you can see progress since the time you defined this goal.

    I have particularly noticed your gains towards emotional strength in the face of new challenges on that front — I think you’ve been strong in those new situations and coming to a new level of comfort in the old, familiar challenges as well.

    What a great range of strength you’re capturing here — I’m excited for you on all fronts.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Have my Moments: Week 1 « Pursuing Grace and Joy - November 13, 2012

    […] to my life and my interactions. Don’t forget to check out what the lovely Katie W. and the best friend had to say this […]

Leave a Reply

