Looking Back: I want to be creative

19 Nov

So while I got the memo about this new challenge, I apparently didn’t GET the memo, if you know what I’m saying. Definitely took a different slant on it, but hey, week one is in, so I guess I’m going for it now.

If you’re just tuning in, I’m reflecting back on some goals I set for myself over a year ago.

So, to be creative. Oy. This is one that is still so true for me, but I do not manage to bring creativity into my life as much I’d like. In fact there are so many days when I find myself saying, man, I’d like to just sit down and make jewelry again. I could blame this on grad school, but I know I choose how I spend time, and so in the next couple months I am going to need to make an even more concerted effort to be more creative.

Via HoneycombPrintShop on Etsy.

However, on the positive side, I have made some strides in finding new ways to be creative. One way, is in the kitchen. Last night, for instance, I made some delicious pumpkin, cinnamon pull apart bread. This required yeast, people. Which to means a serious recipe.

I’ve also been working with the man on some Christmas presents this year. He does some of the heavy listing, especially when saws and nails are needed. But we’ve been able to work together to make some pretty awesome things. I can’t wait til after Christmas to share some of our projects!

So, I’d say this goal is still very important to me. And something I need to push myself toward, because it does really enrich my life when I let the creativity flow. Often, I think I let it get pushed to the backburner because being crafty or creative in some way doesn’t seem as important as say, school work or my job or cleaning the house. But, I need to realize that being creative does have merit and that sometimes I can just go do crafts just for the sake of doing some darn crafts.

And, I will continue to look for new creative outlets. Sometimes trying new things is even more fun. What do you do to get the creative juices flowing?

2 Responses to “Looking Back: I want to be creative”

  1. Kristen November 20, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    I think that this goal encompasses so much — being creative can be so rejuvenating and self-esteem building. Being able to take some time to slow down and use other parts of your brain can have so many awesome effects in the rest of your life. I’m glad that you are finding more ways to feel creative: in the kitchen, in crafting, building and jewelry making. I think that leaves only aural parts of your brain to be creative with. Maybe next time you take a break for creativity, you can make yourself an awesome playlist to accompany it!

  2. Becky November 20, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    Oh, good thinking! I hadn’t thought about the music part of that. But it’s so true, and might be something I can incorporate more easily when I am having a hard time finding the time for the other stuff!

Leave a Reply

